top of page
Featured Posts

Me? A booze hound? How VERY dare you!


For the past few years, I’ve committed to taking a month off the booze. I started because I knew I should look after my liver (being a Naturopath and all that….). Then I realised how much alcohol gets in the way of weight loss and maintenance for me, so I did it again. And it made me feel good.

I saw how it helped me reset my alcohol boundaries too – I find it very easy to slip into drinking Thursday - Sunday (I blame my husband and the fact that I’m clearly easily-led), but know I’m much healthier, more energetic, better rested when I drink less.

After my dry month, sticking to 2 nights a week is no problem: Friday & Saturday nights. It’s easy for a while, then it may slip a little as we head towards summer and I need to focus on it again and remind myself I just feel better. Simple.

You probably know my drink of choice is gin. Just gin with a mixture of tonic & soda water. No wine as a rule. My body certainly finds gin much easier to process than wine. I’ve found that out through experimentation, which came about while I was learning what I needed to do to lose weight: no alcohol, no problem, the weight comes off. A week of wine (not even very much), and eating really well means I’ll be heavier. When I drink wine, it leads to water retention – I can see it on my body when I look in the mirror – I look puffy, and not just around the eyes – everywhere. I was gobsmacked the first time I made the connection. And I only made it because I’d had a month off alcohol. Gin, I’m delighted to tell you, I can get away with if I don’t drink too much of it.

I’m aware I sound like a total booze hound as I type this, but I’m not – I think I’m fairly average in my drinking habits. It is my weakness: these days I rarely fall down on the food – it’s always the booze I have to watch.

So Dry January it is – for the first time ever; I usually choose February, on the basis that it’s the shortest month. Somehow that feels easier, and I can ease out of Christmas mode more slowly.

For 2019, though I’ve got some goals to hit – I’ll be joining my Intelligent Weight Loss members on the weight loss mission starting on 29th January. While I’ve lost 3 dress sizes and maintained for a long time, I want to shed another 5kgs, hopefully it’ll come off the bottom half of me this time 😊 😊 😊 Let’s hope I can hang in there for the extra 3 days!!

Who’s with me? Request to join our private free group, The Transformation Vibe, and join us in the Dry January Challenge, starts today! Click HERE to join.

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page